Overview
Gem admins can configure several settings which determine how Sequences are visible to other Gem users, and what’s included in the footer of every Sequence email - including free text and an unsubscribe link. This article covers how to find and configure each of these settings.
Requirements
- You must be a Gem admin.
Sequence settings
To configure the various Sequence settings, follow these steps:
- Select your account at the bottom of the main sidebar, then select the Admin settings option in the dropdown.
- Select the Outreach header.
- Select the Sequence settings tab.
- From here you can see the various settings that can be configured:
- Default sharing: Configure the default visibility for each new Sequence.
- Additional text: Add text that will be included at the end of every Sequence email.
- Unsubscribe link: Add a link to the end of every Sequence email allowing the recipient to unsubscribe.
- Make any changes you need, then select the Save button to confirm your changes.
In the following sections we’ll go into more detail about each of the settings that can be configured.
Default sharing
Whenever a member of your organization creates a new Sequence, its default visibility is controlled by this setting. Users can customize the sharing settings for each Sequence individually, but this determines the default option.
The options are as follows:
- Confidential: Only the Sequence owner (i.e. the person who created the Sequence) can view each Sequence's contents, statistics, and activities.
- Personal: Anyone on the team can view each Sequence's contents, statistics, and activities, as long as they have the link for that Sequence.
- Shared: Anyone on the team can view each Sequence; they are also included in the Shared Sequences section of the Sequences page.
The default setting is Personal.
Check out Sharing Sequences for more information about how to configure Sequence sharing settings on a per-Sequence basis.
Additional text
This section gives you a free text field with all the usual formatting options. Any text you include in this field is automatically added to the end of every email Sequence (created by anyone in your team) sent to candidates. You can use this field to include disclaimers in every email Sequence, whether for legal, privacy, marketing, or other purposes.
By default this field is empty.
Unsubscribe links
This setting gives you the option to include an unsubscribe link in your Sequences, to make it easier for your candidates to unsubscribe from future messages.
By default, this option is disabled. In this instance, users can still add unsubscribe links to individual Sequences, but this has to be done on a case-by-case basis.
Select the Include an unsubscribe link in all sequences checkbox to enable it on all Sequences (it’s not possible to disable this on an individual Sequence).
Here’s how it works, with this enabled:
- Gem adds a small unsubscribe link to the bottom of every Sequence email. If you have included anything in the Additional text field, the unsubscribe link will appear beneath that additional information.
- When a candidate selects an unsubscribe link, Gem unsubscribes them from all Sequences across your team.
- Gem shows a warning and prevents any team member from sending a Sequence to any candidate on your team’s unsubscribe list.
If your team uses Campaigns, there is a separate unsubscribe workflow for campaign messages. Unsubscribing from Sequences does not unsubscribe recipients from campaigns. Check out Campaigns: Create branded emails for more details.
Additional resources
To learn more about Sequences, check out the following resources.
Have any issues or questions on this topic? Please feel free to contact your dedicated Gem Customer Success Manager directly or our Support team at support@gem.com.