Overview
Sharing Gem Projects allows you to build collaborative talent pools that multiple members of your team can access and contribute to. This article covers how to share Projects, and the different sharing settings available.
Requirements
- You must have a Limited, Regular, or Admin user role. Check out Gem permissions: User roles for more details.
- You must be the owner of any Project you want to update the sharing settings for.
How it works
There are three possible sharing settings for a Project:
- Confidential: Visible only to yourself and the users you designate. Other users won’t see any activity associated with this Project. Stats from this Project won’t be visible in Outreach Stats, and other users won’t be able to see that the candidate is associated with a confidential Project when viewing their Gem profile.
- Personal: Visible to anyone on your team with the link, but only you and those you designate can modify the list by adding or removing candidates. Stats for personal Projects are reflected in Outreach Stats, and other users can see when candidates are assigned to a personal Project when viewing their Gem profiles.
- Shared: Anyone with a Gem account can view or add candidates to shared Projects. Shared Project stats are included in Outreach Stats, and users can see which candidates belong to a shared Project when viewing their Gem profiles.
Setting a Project to Shared shares it with the entire team, involving all stakeholders in the recruitment process and allowing teammates to manage candidates and initiate outreach in bulk.
Setting a Project to Personal or Confidential and then sharing it with specific individuals allows for focused collaboration without compromising your control over the Project’s access.
Set sharing access at Project creation
When creating a new Project in Gem, on the Create project pop-up you’ll be prompted to select a sharing option for that Project.
Change sharing settings
You can change the sharing settings on a Project at any time.
- From the Projects page, open the specific Project you want to amend.
- Select the Share icon in the top-right corner, then select Share settings from the dropdown.
- From the following pop-up you can choose between the different sharing options, and manually add individual teammates as collaborators.
Sharing Projects org-wide
Setting a Project to Shared makes it accessible to every team member from their Projects page. Teammates can easily find shared Projects by selecting All Projects and then Shared with me on this page. Shared Projects are also searchable with auto-complete as you type their name into the search bar.
Teammates can contribute to shared Projects by adding and removing candidates, but only the Project creator can un-share the Project.
Sharing Projects only with specific team members
By default, your Gem Projects are set to Personal Project access. There are two ways to share a Project with specific team members:
- To enable your teammates to manage the candidates in your personal Project, select the Share button on the Project’s page, then select Edit access, and add them as a collaborator in the Who has access section.
- To share a Project with teammates without granting management access, copy the Project link from the Project page and send it directly to them. This is an excellent way to conduct a talent mapping or calibration exercise with your hiring manager.
When you share a link to a personal Project, teammates won’t be able to add or remove candidates from that Project. However, they can still perform other actions, such as:
- Adding candidates from your Project to their own Projects.
- Starting an outreach sequence with candidates in your Project.
- Viewing public LinkedIn profiles for your candidates.
- Leaving notes on individual candidates.
Once you’ve shared a link to a Project, it cannot be unshared. If you need to revoke access to the existing Project, it’s best to create a new Project, transfer all candidates to the new one, and delete the original Project.
Sharing Projects outside your team
You can only share Gem Projects with teammates who are part of your domain. As a workaround, you can download a CSV of the Project (from within the Project select the Share dropdown and then the Download CSV option). The recipient can open the file in Excel or Google Sheets, or upload the CSV into their own Gem account.
Additional resources
To learn more about Projects in Gem, check out the following resources.
- Gem Projects Overview
- Create a Project in Gem
- Create and manage Project fields
- Transfer candidates between Gem Projects
- Import candidates and prospects to Gem Projects
Have any issues or questions on this topic? Please feel free to contact your dedicated Gem Customer Success Manager directly or our Support team at support@gem.com.